in the end

20121201-162853.jpg

So, the deadline for QuiltCon has come and gone… I only had three entries ready to go, but it wasn’t for a lack of trying. I’ll share some of my fails wit ya!

First, I made a fabric panel at Spoonflower & it was glorious. The key word being “was”. I started working on a corner and thoroughly messed up a large seam. When I went to rip it apart & rubbed the color off the fabric. Oh crap. I thought, “I can just order some more of this section of the panel!” But for whatever reason, I couldn’t get that particular portion of the design into the fat quarter preview on Spoonflower. I tried all the repeat options & nothing worked… I couldn’t afford to buy the entire two yard panel, so I decided to abandon ship for now. Here it is in its current state:

20121201-163020.jpg
The second fail was due to fabric, as well. I ordered four yards for my background from a company in New Jersey & well,well, well- Hello, hurricane Sandy!! It wasn’t able to be shipped for over two weeks. When it got here, I opened the box & it was not at all what I ordered!! It was supposed to be a heathered gray, but I got a pale lilac solid. Talk about disappointed. I actually cried over fabric! & I am still working with their customer service department to this day trying to get a solution!! Argh. So, I went shopping all over for a similar fabric, but I just couldn’t find it. The heart wants what it wants, you know? So, that quilt was doomed.

20121201-163134.jpg
Third was a giant appliqué quilt that never made it past the pattern stage. I think when I saw the sheer scale of the undertaking, I got spooked. Here’s the full sized patterns I got from my printer, good ol’ Miller Blueprint:

20121201-164055.jpg
In the end, though, I entered two old quilts & my new reverse appliqué miniature. I’m pretty happy about it, too, because I felt like I had a productive November.

20121201-164422.jpg

20121201-164441.jpg

20121201-164501.jpg
I hope everyone had a good Thanksgiving!! Bring on Christmas! :-) I’m going to go hang lights on my house now. In 80 degree weather… r

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

