for pam

Overall

backing

 

Earlier this month, one of my friends at work was diagnosed with cancer for a third time.  It’s a form that doesn’t respond well to chemotherapy, so she was referred to MD Anderson Cancer Center in Houston.  When I found out, I had visions of Christmas in 2009, when my mom was hospitalized just before Christmas and it was horrible.  I was able to get her free on Christmas Eve- in a blizzard!- and she made me drive her directly to her favorite Chinese buffet for lunch.  It’s one of the happy memories that I have of the last few months of my mom’s life.  So, I didn’t want Pam to have to go stay at a hospital without something to remind her of home & her friends who love her.  I pieced it together the weekend after I heard the bad news by referencing a photo from Angela Walters’ book (you can see it here)  using Texas A&M colors and hand quilted it all this week.

Detail

 

I decided today would be the best day to give it her, since my office was having our Christmas luncheon and it was the last day that the majority of us would be at work before the holiday break.  I hid it in a big paper bag and sneaked around the office to all my coworkers so that they could sign their names on the pink stripe that runs across the bottom.

signatures

 

 

Afterwards, I sealed it inside the paper bag with copious amounts of tape and I’ll let these next photos speak for themselves…

opening

 

pam

 

Pam is an amazing woman and I’m so proud to call her my friend.  I hope this helps her with her fight…  Merry Christmas everyone. r

Tagged , , , ,

4 thoughts on “for pam

  1. antarabesque says:

    Beautiful and so thoughtful. God bless you for your generosity, creativity and compassion.

  2. Kim says:

    That puts a smile on my face. Good thoughts for Pam.

  3. andrea says:

    so beautiful! both the guesture and the quilt. How in the world did you finish all that hand quilting in a week?!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

