starts & finishes

So, it’s 2014. I’ve always made a New Year’s resolution, but I don’t know that I’ve ever followed through with one. Last year felt like a bit of a blur because I couldn’t make myself do anything for the first part & then sewed like a crazy person at the end. In fact, I’m sitting here right now with a swollen & numb index finger from hand quilting. But I had altogether too many starts & not enough finishes. My brain likes to jump ship on things when I get halfway through because it’s always looking for the next idea. I have sketch books upon sketch books with ideas & WIP’s galore and I tell myself,”NOTHING NEW UNTIL YOU FINISH THIS PROJECT!!!” But my brain is wily & finds a way around my pronouncements. If I don’t want to finish a quilt, it decides I need to write a play.... Or sew a mini winter quilt…

20140102-080312.jpg
But no, the top & bottom are too disjointed! It looks like Christmas in Mordor! So, my brain tells me to split it on two & make a pair of damn winter mini quilts…

20140102-080508.jpg
Or instead draw a miniature drawing of Benedict Cumberbatch…

20140102-080914.jpg
Or work on anything else, really. It wasn’t until I was sitting in my room with a paintbrush in my teeth & roughing in an oil painting with a palette knife that I begin to question myself-” What kind of procrastination hell is this??? Just bind your damn quilt, already!!!” Lol So, I did. & I wrote a pattern, too. 2014 is the year to make my thoughts turn into reality, but with a heretofore unseen consistency!! The word of the year is FINISH. So, let’s go get started on something, shall we? r

3 thoughts on “starts & finishes

  1. Jenn says:

    Ha, this post cracked me up. Mainly because I can relate so well. I love your mini-projects, by the way. “FINISH” is a fantastic word for 2014!

  2. Becky Roach says:

    I think you’re back on track Beka. Okay, if you want to write a play, write a play! Just FINISH it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

