moms

moms art quilt
back view

Today is a difficult holiday for me because my momma passed away last year on April 6th. She was 55 years old. I COMPLETELY avoided Mother’s Day last year because it was just too painful. Everywhere you turn- in stores, on the TV, all over the internet- there are advertisements showing moms & daughters hugging & laughing & being happy… showing moments that I won’t ever experience again.

Anyways, I decided to make a memorial quilt in her honor. Inspired by some stencil art from France, I decided to create a small art piece that would be based on a photo of her. About three months after she had passed, I finally had the courage to sit down and look for the perfect photo for my project. Unfortunately, I lasted about 5 minutes before breaking down into tears! I had to put away the bags of photos and pull myself together. It was about another three months before I could make myself look through the photos again and I did manage to choose one. However, once I scanned it and started working in photoshop, the tears flowed again. I guess it was something about having to zoom in really closely & having her face fill up my computer screen life-sized that overwhelmed me. Anyways, gradually, every few months, I’ve been going back to it and taking care of a few steps. The holes will end up going through all three layers, so I’ve got a ways to go. I’m not one for fusing, so I’ve been turning under a seam allowance on each hole & they are getting harder & harder to do as the size dwindles down. I’m currently regretting the busy print, though. This might end up being the back side of the quilt, so I can put a solid or near solid fabric on the front. I’m thinking about using black tulle to create some more definition, as well. I’m not sure if this quilt will ever be finished, but something tells me that I’m not making it to be finished. I’m making it to heal…

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

