foil madness!!

20111119-190148.jpg

I really haven’t done much sewing since Houston, so I decided to play with some of the stuff I’ve been hoarding for a while. For about six months, I’ve had two tubes of Jones Tones foil & glue sitting on my dresser patiently waiting for me to get inspiration. I cut some pieces of white fabric & glopped down the glue to see what would happen. After it dried for a few hours, I covered them with the foil & burnished it with a spoon. Let me just say, my arms almost fell off during the process! Someone should make a workout video with this stuff…

20111119-190900.jpg
But the end result was oooh so pretty! I love me some sparkleriffication!!!

20111119-191056.jpg
So, now I had to figure out what to do with it. There was a post on the Quilting Arts Facebook page about an Affirmation Quilt Reader Challenge due on December 1st & I had a lightbulb moment. My word of the month has been “Courage”, so I knew exactly what to make. First, I drew my pattern onto the foiled fabric.

20111119-191817.jpg
The I stuck some stabilizer underneath & thread painted the ribbon area. I don’t have a pic of this part, because frankly, it’s a hairy scary process. About five minutes into a project, you immediately think,” THIS LOOKS TERRIBLE!!! I’M RUINING MY WORK!!!!” But I pressed on & kept stitching until Rory started getting angry with me & making crunchy noises. & then I sewed some more! It took forever and a year, but I did feel rewarded at the end. I think the blue is gorgeous against the silver. Yeah, so then I removed the extra stabilizer & sandwiched it up with two layers of wool batting & some scraps for the back. Then I quilted it in a dark gray isacord thread. Tadaa!

20111119-193056.jpg
I’m not done yet, btw. It’s going to be trimmed down into a fluffy little appliqué. I’ll post the whole thing when I finish. This seems to be the year of the mini quilt! I’ve made four now, I think. But it’s getting my mind clear & allowing me to be creative without sapping time away from my Thanksgiving duties. Anyways, thanks for reading & happy quilting! Rebs

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “foil madness!!

  1. […] that has what she calls sparkleriffication. To get this effect she used Jones Tone foil. Click here to read full […]

  2. WOW_ STunning is the only word I can come up with!

    LOVE it!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

