moms part two…

Laser cut felt illustration

This image should look familiar if you’ve read my blog from last Mother’s Day. I was inspired by a French art installation and created a piece that celebrated my moms.  It’s been two years since she passed away & it just doesn’t get any easier…

ANYWAYS, on my first version, I cut out each hole from a piece of fabric and turned the raw edges under to the back.  It was easy work with the big holes and not so much as they got progressively smaller.  My bamboo skewer gave way to a tooth pick and after a while, I had my fill of tediousness & put the piece aside.

Close up of laser cutting

So, this year, I decided to turn to my old friend, Ponoko.  It’s a website that can pretty much make anything you dream of into a reality.  You can upload designs to be laser cut or etched onto hundreds of different materials.  They can 3D print anything. If you don’t have any art or CAD skills, they can find you someone who will do it for you.  It’s like a magic dream rainbow factory!  & if you’re thinking, “Well, that doesn’t sound very quilty!” Then let me entice you with the power to create your own acrylic rotary cutting templates!  Can you imagine?  Er. I’ve strayed off topic!  So, I uploaded an Illustrator file to Ponoko and requested that it be laser cut from 2mm thick, cream colored felt.  Then I waited a couple of weeks for it to come back home to me.

When I opened the box, it had a slightly singed smell, but I was able to take care of that by rubbing it with a cucumber face wipe.  And I also had to remove all the little bits from each hole- see below!

crumb city!

I’m sure you can imagine how fun it was to have these little bits o’ felt scatter all up in your living room!  I found a few nestled in my hair & had to furiously keep the cat at bay so he wouldn’t try to eat them.

But now I’m not sure how to finish this little project.  I was thinking about quilting in cream colored thread to create more texture and detail to her hair, but that might spoil the whole spare aesthetic thing going on.  Or maybe work in some tulle or something?  Or chop it down and put it on the wall and be done with it! Who knows…

FYI- Here’s the photo I used to create this whole project. I pray you can see a resemblance in the felt piece! lol

my momma

Sigh.  I love you, moms.  I miss you everyday.  Love, rebecca

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “moms part two…

  1. Claire Jain says:

    So beautiful 🙂 What a lovely image of your Mom. The info about Ponoko is so interesting. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

