i’ll just leave this here…

I belong to the Austin Modern Quilt Guild and they’re having a contest to redesign our logo, so I thought I’d give it the old college try. I’ve been inspired by the color wheel lately- and the illustrations of Patrick Hruby– so I sketched some letters and then just started playing around with shapes & colors. Let me tell you, the letter G was the most difficult & I have no idea why… It took me AGES to make something that resembled a G!!! I think it worked out, though. The deadline isn’t until May 31st, but I should be super busy by that time sewing up quilts for the IQA Houston deadline.

The light in my sewing room has been out for over a week, so I haven’t touched my machine in forever. We have really high ceilings and homegirl does NOT want to wrestle with our rickety ladder to change the bulb. So, I’ve been gently nagging my Steven to do it for me. And then nagging some more. And then maybe a little threatening thrown in for good measure after the first week rolled by… Anyways, yesterday I was working at my desk when I saw him walk by with a ladder and pack of lightbulbs. I had to spy on him very carefully for fear of spooking him. It was like watching a baby deer in the wild! But he actually changed it and I was so happy that I immediately suggested we go out and eat a feast in honor of his manliness. When we got back, I went in there, flipped the switch, and “ZZZZZZTT!!!” the light burned out again. Yikes. I’m guessing something is no bueno in the electrical wiring, but we shall see. Why am I telling this story? Oh yeah, since I haven’t been able to sew, I’ve been drawing new projects to make. Of course, I’ll probably never get around to making them, but it’s been fun to doodle. I fell in love with an Australian felt art piece that was a bunch of rainbow colored scallops, so I sketched something similar to make a little quilt. But truthfully, I need to re-focus on everything I’ve got going on already. We’ll see how it goes! Hopefully, I’ll have light in my sewing room tomorrow & be able to make some headway. Goodnight! rebecca

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

