AMQG name tag

My local Modern Quilt Guild had a name tag challenge for the October meeting (which you can read about here), so, of course, I created something crazy.  It started with me doodling out my name at work…

 

And then I started doodling free motion quilting designs until I found something I liked.  Then I combined the quilting designs with the name and placed them into a crown-type shape.  The strange thing is that I sketched everything the correct size!  So, I combined everything and it just fit perfectly.  Even stranger- I bought a cheap tiara from Hobby Lobby and my name tag fit perfectly across the front of it! From one side of the “diamonds” to the other.  I’m like the Justin Wilson of sewing…

So, when I got home from work, I transferred the design onto a piece of Sulky Washaway stabilizer with a gold pen and pinned it onto some chambray and scrap batting.

 

Then, I started embroidering everything with a pretty thread of Presencia Perle Cotton. For the border, I did a heavy chain stitch that I learned from Mary Corbet’s NeedleNThread website.

 

Unfortunately, I don’t have any pics of the rest of the process because I’m lazy!  I cut away the excess batting and seam allowance around the piece and glued it to the back.  Next, I cut my name out of hot pink felt and glued it in place before sewing a small zigzag around it with a variegated pink silk thread.  I cut out a piece of fabric for the back, pressed the seam allowance to the back, and stitched it down to the front piece to hide all the ugliness.  Finally, I whipstitched the completed name tag to the front of that cheap tiara and called it a day!

 

So, there you go.  Voila. My Steven says it looks nothing like a crown and I look more like a French Maid or WWI nurse.  Whatevs, yo!  I loves it.  Happy Saturday!!

 

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “AMQG name tag

  1. Fun idea and I’m impressed that you were willing to put so much effort into a name tag. I just checked out the guild’s web site and I see you weren’t the only one to make a big effort. Is there a little healthy rivalry in the guild perhaps, to spur you all on to greatness?

Leave a Reply

