randomness…

TrinityI’ve been sewing for the past few weeks on all sorts of random things, so I thought I’d share a bit.  This onesie is TOTALLY out of my comfort zone. C’mon- garment sewing??! My sister-in-law asked me to make it for her brother’s daughter, who is set to be born in the next few weeks.  His favorite video game was Halo, so she wanted to incorporate that into something a little girl would wear. Anyways, I hacked apart a Garanimals onesie to see how it was put together & then cobbled together all kinds of different parts to make this garment.  All it lacks now are snaps & then I need to make a matching hat or headband and some shoes.  My embroidery could be MUCH better, but hopefully she won’t be too upset about it.  I didn’t want to use the preset fonts in my sewing machine, so I designed it on the PC and then thread painted the words. It’s not a smooth satin stitch & that’s my one regret… Here’s the back:

ruffles

It’s three rows of tulle ruffles, which are adorable!  I could sit here and fluff them for hours.

fluff fluff fluffThen next up was my entry for the Modern Quilt Guild’s Madrona Road Challenge:

Madrona Roach

It’s only about two feet high, so it didn’t take long.  It’s my first finish of 2013, so that’s something!

I’ve got several other projects sitting in the wings.  A Valentine’s quilt. Another Madrona Road mini quilt in the citrus colorway. A tote bag! Oh, the tote bag.  It’s going to be so awesome, I can’t stand it! There aren’t enough hours in the day… Well, thanks for reading!  & I’ll try to post more leading up to QuiltCon!  rebecca

 

 

 

 

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “randomness…

  1. Claire Jain says:

    I love your Madrona Road quilt 🙂

Leave a Reply

